What is Love?

‘I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please.’

 

And I heard the sounds of the murmuring multitudes –

“LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!” They declared viciously to me.

“LOVE!”  They shouted, all in a rage.  “LOVE, OR DIE!”

 

‘I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please.’

What is love?

I want you to know my heart for you

Have you heard it thunder in the night?

Have you seen the lightnings of my soul?

How can I express my longing? You will think it only ethereal ‘love.’

O Christian, you have learned love, your fathers in the Spirit declared it.

 

And now the world constrains you.

“LOVE!  YOU MUST LOVE US!  ACCEPT, YOU MUST ACCEPT!  TOLERATE, YOU MUST TOLERATE!”

Have THEY learned from our fathers?  Do they understand?  No.

‘I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please.’

 

What is love?  The world declares it to be one thing, and assaults you if it is not what they want.  Is that love?  Should you ‘LOVE them anyways?’  Oh yes… but not as they expect it.

What is love?  Love dwells with Truth.  I tell you, the two are one, just as you might call the ‘Holy Trinity.’

Truth without love is a rod of iron; love without Truth is ignorant, naked and blind.

 

What is love?

Love is not ethereal, not amorphous, not blind.

Love does not aimlessly assail humanity with itself.

Love is a sharp scalpel, it is definitive, certain, and True.

Love is shrewd as a serpent, and as harmless as a dove.

 

Love, like an arrow, knows its target.  Love is not blind tolerance.

Certainly ‘tolerance’ has no place in love, for it only ‘tolerates’, LOVE CONSUMES.

The objective of love is to obtain – indeed, love is obtaining, itself.

Do you love God?  This will be shown if you love people.

 

But what is love?  Do you march to the drums of the world, as they shout at Christians – their slaves – “LOVE!  LOVE!  LOVE!”  They have put out your eyes, O Samson, for you have believed their rhetoric, which was stolen from your fathers, and taken from the Book.

But: ‘I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please.’

 

Love is a sharp, two-edged sword it pierces the heart of the ‘lover,’ and the heart of the ‘lovee.’  (‘Yea, and a sword shall pierce through thy own soul also, that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.‘)

It will garnish both mercy, and Truth – sometimes more mercy; sometimes more Truth.

Love is relentless – it will not be overcome.

Yes, love is a scalpel, sharp and precise.  Don’t attempt to use it until it is Truly perfected within you.

Let no physician experiment upon you.  Neither do so to others.

Can I say thus rightly?  Is not love to be freely lavished?  Nay – thrice declared in the book of love: ‘I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please.

Yes, I say this to you, O Christian because I love YOU, and HATE ignorance – who is a destroyer (Hos 4:6).

 

Be not theirs, for they have warped the words of the Just, and pierced you with many deceits.

‘I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please.’

2 thoughts on “What is Love?

Leave a Reply

